Perhaps no other NFL football team is as popular as the Dallas Cowboys. Nicknamed “Team of the Americas” years ago, people either love them or hate them. But what cannot be discussed is its success. In the 45 years of their existence, the Dallas Cowboys have won more football games than any other team in all of football. The Cowboys are also well known for having the Dallas Cowboy Cheerleaders.

The Dallas Cowboys entered the NFL on January 28, 1960. They make their home in Irving, TX (a suburb of Dallas) and play their games at Texas Stadium. This stadium, built in 1971, is well known among football fans due to the unique hole in the roof above the football field.

Over the years, the Cowboys have played in 8 to 40 Super Bowls, winning 5 of them. Only San Francisco can make that claim. They have made the playoffs 27 times and have won 18 division titles.

Jerry Jones is currently the owner and president of the team. The Dallas Cowboys are managed by Bill Parcells. When the team first came into the league, they were coached by Tom Landry. He remained the coach of the Cowboys from 1960 to 1988. He is arguably one of the best head coaches the NFL has ever had.

The Dallas Cowboys have had more than their share of Hall of Fame football players. Some of these include:

or Tom Landry

or Tony Dorset

Bob Lily

Mel Renfro

or Tex Schramm

o Roger Staubach

oRandy White

Lance Alworth

or Mike Ditka

or Adderly Herb

oForrest Gregg

or Tommy McDonald

oJackie Smith

The Dallas Cowboys’ first season in the NFL was not the kind of start they expected. They couldn’t win a single game. A few years later, in 1965, they began their streak of 9 consecutive playoff appearances. The Cowboys made it to the Super Bowl in 1971, but lost to the Pittsburgh Steelers. The following year, 1972, the Cowboys returned to the Super Bowl, this time beating the Miami Dolphins 24-3.

The football Cowboys then went to the Super Bowl in ’76, ’78 and ’79. The 1979 game against Pittsburgh is still considered the greatest football game in Super Bowl history.

The team went through many rebuilds in the late 1980s and Tom Landry retired after the 1988 season. It was at this time that Jerry Jones also bought the team and hired Jimmy Johnson as head coach. This started a streak of success that very few football teams have experienced.

With Emmit Smith in the backfield, Troy Aikman at quarterback and Michael Irvin at wide receiver, the Dallas Cowboys won back-to-back Super Bowls in 1993 and 1994. After a major disagreement with owner Jerry Jones, Jimmy Johnson retired. He came under new coach Barry Switzer and led the Cowboys to the playoffs 3 times, including winning the Super Bowl again in 1997.

This success has kept Dallas at the top of world soccer for many years. With its great winning tradition, this success can be expected to continue for many years to come.